Fiction Uncovered launched in 2011 with funding from Arts Council England (Grants for the Arts). In 2014 and 2015, with the support of the Jerwood Charitable Foundation, it became the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize, with a prize fund each year of £40,000 divided equally between eight winners. In addition to the prize money, the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize team worked with the eight writers and their publishers to promote their winning titles in bookshops, through live events and via an annual radio station Fiction Uncovered FM.

The Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize 2015 awarded eight British writers of outstanding works of fiction – novels, short stories and graphic novels. You can read more about last year’s winners here.

Fiction Uncovered is dedicated to rewarding the best British Fiction writing across all forms and however it is published. We celebrate British fiction year-round on our website with reviews, interviews and guest posts.


To keep up to date with the latest in British fiction and hear first about our plans for 2016 please sign up to our newsletter. Please note we are currently not accepting submissions.


Fiction Uncovered is a Literary Platform project, supported by Arts Council England and funded by the National Lottery, with prize funding from the Jerwood Charitable Foundation in 2014 and 2015.

You can contact Fiction Uncovered at

“The Mercury Prize for books, because it celebrates writers whom keen readers (and literary editors) might know about, and introduces some whom we probably don’t.”
Katy Guest, The Independent on Sunday

More Information:
Background Information
Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize Mapped! Explore our interactive map of Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize activity.


Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message